First things first: Your documents are NEVER available on the public internet after you upload them to PlagScan. As a single user, nobody has access to the full-text of your documents as long as you don't explicitly share your plagiarism reports. Here is a list of how your documents can serve as a source for others, based on their respective settings (again, WITHOUT sharing the full-text).

  Internet User database Organization database Plagiarism Prevention Pool
Compare with web sources never - - -
Check against my documents never + - -
Share with my organization never + + -
Become part of the Plagiarism Prevention Pool never + + +

PlagScan uses an encrypted document transfer method (256-bit SSL via https) for maximum security. If you would like to activate encryption prior to logging in, select https://www.plagscan.com. Secure Socket Layer (SSL) is the protocol that enables this safe data transfer via the internet. The SSL protocol makes sure that sensitive data, such as credit card information, cannot be read or manipulated. Many browsers such as Microsoft Internet Explorer, Firefox, Opera, Chrome and others support SSL. The use of SSL is indicated by a lock icon somewhere in your browser. The position of this icon may vary based on which browser you are using.

Your personal data are never sold or passed on to anybody by PlagScan or our business associates.